top of page

Lullaby for Dad

I sang my dad to sleep. When I asked what time they would like their lullaby he said: 'I thought this was my lullaby, your mom already had hers.' He makes me giggle. 'Well it's your lullaby, you can say if you're okay with mom being there too or if you want one just for you...' He doesn't go so far to say that, but he doesn't invite my mom either, so the message is pretty clear. When I call him I enjoy the moments where he still has to get ready and figure out the technical stuff, which is not his strongest point: 'Let me just check if the wifi works all the way in the bedroom.' My mom helps him with the headphones, but is also generous enough to leave the bedroom after that. I sing my dad a self written lullaby about sailing on a boat to the moon and fetching the stars for him. It's so special to look at his face while he is lying there with his eyes closed. When I'm done he says: 'I love that song. Can't you sing that to me again tomorrow?' 'I don't know about tomorrow dad, but I can sure sing it to you a again sometime. Will you go to sleep, now?' And the fact that it's so easy to switch roles and turn the world upside down makes me smile. Sweet dreams, dad...


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
bottom of page